Dr. Michael Forster

College of Health Awards Night Honors Outstanding Students

The college recognized the achievements of eighty of its top students last night at an awards ceremony held at the Thad Cochran Center.  Though a highlight of the academic year for the college itself, press releases on such events rarely crack into the news (especially in today’s page-deprived newspapers!).  So here’s the text of the university release on the event, in its entirety:

Outstanding students in all of the academic areas of The University of Southern Mississippi’s College of Health were recognized at an awards event on Tuesday, April 2, in the Thad Cochran Center.

Jennifer E. Parker, president of the College of Health Ambassadors recognized Crystal C. Johnson for her service as past president. Parker presented awards to Janet L. Davie-Cramer and Adam C. Whipple for exceptional service to the Ambassador program.  Other senior Ambassadors recognized were Karen T. Johnson, P. Reghan Johnson, Ta’Rena L. Jones, Mercedes Le, Edward J. Olack, Jennifer E. Parker, Michelle L. Pontiff, Paige L. Powell, Imogene S. Valentine, Adam C. Whipple, Kristen B. Windecker and Sabrina M. Young.

Dr. Michael Forster, dean of the college, presented the Dean’s Council Awards for Community Service to Karen L. Bell and Karen T. Johnson and the Dean’s Council Awards for Campus Leadership to Traci L. Breland and Alanna L. Fopiano.

Students receiving recognition from the Department of Medical Laboratory Science included Hannah Renee Rice for Excellence in Junior Bacteriology, Excellence in Junior Hematology and Excellence in Research, Ann Morgan Eugene-Wilks for Excellence in Junior Clinical Chemistry. William Adam Shirley for Excellence in Senior Clinical Chemistry, Erica Lynn Salim for Excellence in Senior Hematology, Melissa Miller Keenan for Excellence in Senior Immuno-Hematology, Crystal Machele Thompson for Excellence in Junior Immunology, and Chelsa Nichole Williams for Excellence in Senior Microbiology.

In the Department of Speech and Hearing Sciences, the Peggy Revels Elward Outstanding Senior Award went to Hannah Brooks Martin, the Sertoma Outstanding Graduate Student awards went to Megan Noelle Dunbar in audiology, Sasha Regalado in early oral intervention and Katelyn Rae Voss in speech language pathology.  Adam Craig Whipple was recognized as the department’s outstanding graduate student.

The School of Social  Work recognized students for academic achievement.  Academic Excellence Certificates were presented to undergraduates Lindsey Casabella, Christel Holliman, Lori Marie King, Randy King, and Katherine Royer and to graduate student Elizabeth Wittman Casey.  Awards of Merit were presented to undergraduates Alma Jeannette Burrell, Madeline Olivia Deshotel Carter, Jacqueline Lee Coffman, Angela Crenshaw Cruz, Ashley Dixon, Rebecca Ann Greene, Leanna Howard, Saralyn Dee Williamson Lee, Jeanne Louise Levesque, Tina JoAnn Meaker, Jasmine Michelle Naylor, Chasity Nicholson, Charles Mark Osborne, Jennifer E. Parker, Marie Sheppard, Elizabeth Ann Fleming Skipper, Gregory Stark, Imogene Savell Valentine, Monica Janneth Walker and Leslie Stuart Williams.

The Alton B. Cobb Oustanding Master of Public Health Award was presented to James M. Turner.  Also receiving awards from the Department of Community Health Sciences were Leah Parks, Outstanding Master of Public Health Research Award, Valerie Short, Master of Public Health Professional Development Award, Danielle M. Anderson, Lynn Cook Hartwig Outstanding Undergraduate, Kayla Stanley and Linda Walker, Outstanding Undergraduate Scholarship Awards, Janet L. Davie-Cramer and Mary Margaret Lang, Undergraduate Service Awards.

The School of Human Performance and Recreation presented awards for outstanding scholarship and outstanding leadership in each of their academic areas. In exercise science, Outstanding Scholarship Award to Dalton A. Newell and Distinguished Leadership Award to Benjamin C. Lyman.

In kinesiotherapy, Outstanding Scholarship Award to Shawn C. Chambliss and Distinguished Leadership Award to Kayla S. Rogers.

In physical education, Outstanding Scholarship Award to John S. Hii, Distinguished Leadership Award to Justin C. Williamson.

In recreation, Outstanding Scholarship Award to  Zachary A. Crosby, Distinguished Leadership Award to Marissa F. Mendiola.

In sport coaching education, Outstanding Scholarship Award to  Nicholas A. Deal, Distinguished Leadership Award to Jazz B. Carmichael.

In sport management, Outstanding Scholarship Award to Michelle L. Pontiff, Distinguished Leadership Award to Ethan L. Rich.

Overall awards in the School of Human Performance and Recreation were presented for Outstanding Undergraduate Scholarship to Caitlin E. Leumas, Distinguished Undergraduate Leadership to Edward J. Olack, Outstanding Master’s Students to Sonia R. Curvelo and Kyle S. Smith and Outstanding Doctoral Student to David E. Krzeminski.

Students recognized in the Department of Nutrition and Food Systems were SaVanna Beth Sims as the Mississippi Academy of Nutrition & Dietetics Nominee for Outstanding Dietetic Intern, Ashley Nicole Bryant as the Mississippi Academy of Nutrition & Dietetics Nominee for Outstanding Didactic Student, Rebecca Kent Bishop as the Southern Miss Outstanding Dietetic Intern, Hope Renee Foster as the Outstanding Junior in Nutrition and Food Systems, Kaela S. Perissutti as the Outstanding Senior in Nutrition and Food Systems, Katie Danielle Newton as the Outstanding Master’s Student in Nutrition and Food Systems and Kevin Daniel Haubrick as the Outstanding Doctoral Student in Nutrition and Food Systems.

Dr. Michael Forster
Dr. Michael Forster

Comments are closed.